SA Champions Trophy Squad

South Africa has named their 15 man squad for the Champions Trophy next month in Pakistan.


The squad sees one change from the team doing ODI duty in England, with Robin Peterson replacing Hashim Amla.


Amla, who is not a regular in the ODI team, is currently serving as back up to Smith for the forthcoming ODI series in England. He is not expected to feature in any of the matches.


The return of Peterson, who was part of the Test squad in England, but did not play any of the Tests, sees the selectors increase their spin options for the sub continental wickets. Along with Peterson the squad includes Botha as a spinner, and with Peterson and Botha also offering left and right arm variety the options for the selectors are increased. Ontong and Duminy are also able to weigh in with some part time spin.


Test spinner Paul Harris is not included in the one day set up, with Peterson and Botha offering more in the field and with the bat., bringing more balance to the team.


South Africa are in group B of the Champions Trophy, along with Sri Lanka, England and New Zealand, and open their campaign against the Kiwi’s on September 14th.


The full squad is: Graeme Smith (capt), Johan Botha, Mark Boucher (wk), AB de Villiers, JP Duminy, Herschelle Gibbs, Jacques Kallis, Albie Morkel, Morne Morkel, Andre Nel, Makhaya Ntini, Justin Ontong, Robin Peterson, Vernon Philander, Dale Steyn


(Pic from


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: