SA ODI Squad for England Series

South Africa have named a 15 man squad for the T20 match and five ODI’s that follow tomorrows fourth and final Test.

The squad sees several changes to the team that has done Test duty, and the return of Herchelle Gibbs to the national set up. After being left out of the Test squad Gibbs had questioned his international future. The selectors are keen to let the talented batsman know that he is still very much in their plans. for the shorter versions of the game at least. Gibbs should be back up the order opening the batting with Smith.

From the Test squad, Mckenzie, Harris, Zondeki, Prince and Peterson step down. Zondeki and Peterson did not feature in any of the Tests, and are unlikely to play tomorrow.

In to the squad come Johan Botha, Justin Ontong, Albie Morkel, Vernon Philander, as well as Gibbs. Dale Steyn retains is included despite missing the third Test and tomorrows Test, and should be fit to play the first match of the limited overs series.

Hashim Amla has been retained to act as cover for Smith, who has picked up niggling injuries throughout the summer.

The opening match of the series, the T20 match, is on the 20th of August.

The full squad is:  Graeme Smith (capt), Hashim Amla, Johan Botha, Mark Boucher (wk), AB de Villiers, JP Duminy, Herschelle Gibbs, Jacques Kallis, Albie Morkel, Morne Morkel, Andre Nel, Makhaya Ntini, Justin Ontong, Vernon Philander, Dale Steyn.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: